This is the "Guides (A-Z)" page of the "Subject Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Subject Guides  

SUNY Upstate Health Sciences Library
Last Updated: Aug 20, 2014 URL: http://upstate.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Guides (A-Z) Print Page
  Search: 
 

All Guides (A-Z)

African American Health
by Chris Kucharski - Last Updated Dec 10, 2013
45 views this year
Alzheimers Disease
by Clare Rauch - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
A form of dementia where people gradually lose their memory due to deteriorating changes to their brain. Patients also lose their ability to perform daily activities. Medicines are available which slow the progress of this disease.
168 views this year
Arthritis
by Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Arthritis is pain, swelling, and stiffness in a joint. Arthritis has many causes and has a variety of forms such as bacterial arthritis, osteoarthritis, or rheumatoid arthritis.
25 views this year
Asthma
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Asthma is a chronic condition of the lungs, where the bronchial tubes (or airways) become narrower making it difficult for the person to breathe. People with asthma are really sensitive to things like dust, exercise, and cigarette smoke.
63 views this year
Bioethics
by Virginia Young - Last Updated Jun 27, 2014
330 views this year
Breast Cancer
by Clare Rauch - Last Updated Oct 1, 2014
Breast cancer is a malignant tumor that starts in the cells of the breast. A malignant tumor is a group of cancer cells that can grow into surrounding tissues or spread to other areas of the body. Affects mostly women, but can affect men, too.
43 views this year
Caregiving
by Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
29 views this year
Central NY Master of Public Health
by Laura Schlueter, Virginia Young - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
The Master of Public Health (MPH) is a joint program offered by Syracuse University and Upstate Medical University.
0 views this year
Constitution Day
by Chris Kucharski, Virginia Young - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
To commemorate the signing of the Constitution of the United States of America in 1787, Constitution Day is observed September 17. In accordance with section 111 of Division J of Public Law 108-447 (2004) we celebrate!
83 views this year
Copyright & Fair Use
by Amy Slutzky, Virginia Young - Last Updated Dec 20, 2013
136 views this year
da Vinci Surgery
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
A specialized surgery which uses robots and computers which help doctors make very small incisions, or cuts into the patient. Robot surgery can be used for heart bypass, prostate, hysterectomy and other operations.
16 views this year
EndNote Quick Guide
by Clare Rauch - Last Updated Oct 20, 2014
A quick online reference for using EndNote, the software tool for publishing and managing bibliographies, citations and references on the Windows and Macintosh desktop. Includes helpful tips to save you time.
17 views this year
Enterovirus D68: Facts and Information
by Clare Rauch - Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
Enterovirus D68 (EV-D68) is one of many non-polio enteroviruses. EV-D68 can cause mild to severe respiratory illness. Mild symptoms may include fever, runny nose, sneezing, cough, and body and muscle aches.
73 views this year
Evidence Based Practice
by Clare Rauch - Last Updated May 21, 2014
"The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research." (Sackett, D. 1996)
486 views this year
Exercise And Fitness
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Resources for using physical activity to improve your health and well-being. This guide covers many different types of physical activities and you can find resources that focus on exercise for certain conditions or age groups.
24 views this year
Fibromyalgia
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Fibromyalgia is a disorder which causes painful muscles, lack of sleep and overall fatigue. Patients describe flu-like symptoms. Sometimes the skin is effected. The FDA has approved one medication for fibromyalgia.
9 views this year
Headache
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Some of the different types of headaches are, migraine, tension, cluster, and sinus. Headaches causes or triggers which are covered in this guide. Many medicines and pain relievers are used to treat headaches.
70 views this year
Help Tutorials for Databases and Research
by Laura Schlueter - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
The Health Sciences Library has assembled and developed online tutorials to help users meet their informational needs.
155 views this year
Herbal Information
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Information on plants and natural (not man-made) products that are used improve health or treat health problems.
22 views this year
Herniated Disk
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Disk pain can be from different parts of the spine. The lower back, middle, or upper/neck area can be effected. Many people benefit from nonsurgical treatment. For others, there are several surgical techniques which are used to help with back pain caused
21 views this year
Lactation Resources For Clinicians
by Olivia Tsistinas - Last Updated Nov 7, 2013
Best-Practice Resources for Supporting the Breastfeeding Mother
44 views this year
MDConsult - alternative resources
by Rebecca Kindon - Last Updated Oct 2, 2014
1,243 views this year
Medical Humanities
by Virginia Young - Last Updated Nov 15, 2013
38 views this year
Menopause
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Menopause is the time at which menstruation (menstrual period) ceases, usually between 45 and 55 years of age. A woman has reached menopause when she has not had a period for one year. Changes and symptoms can start several years earlier.
15 views this year
NIH Public Access Policy @ Upstate
by Amy Slutzky - Last Updated Sep 18, 2014
43 views this year
Nursing
by Chris Kucharski - Last Updated Oct 23, 2014
470 views this year
Nursing Resource Guide
by Olivia Tsistinas - Last Updated Sep 2, 2014
Nursing Research Special Interest Group (NRSIG) selected resources
408 views this year
Osteoporosis
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Over 40 million people are affected by osteoporosis, a severe weakening of of bones. Osteoporosis can be diagnosed and treated with a proper diet rich in calcium and vitamin D. Medications are sometimes used with changes in life style to prevent fractures
17 views this year
Pediatric Residency
by Virginia Young - Last Updated Dec 5, 2013
69 views this year
Prostate Disorders
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
Prostate cancer is a disease in which malignant (cancer) cells form in the tissues of the prostate. This guide provides links to resources on diagnosis, stages of cancer, and treatment options.
11 views this year
Public Health Resources
by Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 25, 2014
158 views this year
Refworks
by Laura Schlueter - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
Refworks is a writing and collaboration tool that helps gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.
0 views this year
Resources for Upstate University Hospital Community Campus
by Rebecca Kindon, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Oct 16, 2014
Information about library services. Direct links to electronic books, journals, and databases available to staff located at the Community campus.
342 views this year
Seasonal Affective Disorder
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Sometimes called the "winter blues" or seasonal depression, SAD occurs when there is less natural sunlight. SAD can be treated with light therapy or medication.
12 views this year
Selected Internet Resources
by Chris Kucharski - Last Updated Aug 22, 2014
239 views this year
Selected Internet Resources for Nurses
by Chris Kucharski - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
55 views this year
Sickle Cell
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Sickle cell anemia is inherited or passed on from parents. It is very painful because red blood cells, which carry oxygen, are shaped differently. They get stuck in a person's blood vessels and prevent oxygen from going to other parts of the body. The blo
28 views this year
Smoking Cessation
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
There are many benefits and improvements to health when you quit smoking. This guide provides you with many sources for how to quit smoking, from the American Cancer Society, New York State Smoker's Quit site, and UPSTATE's Smoking Cessation Program.
23 views this year
Thalassemia
by Clare Rauch - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
10 views this year
Translations
by Nancy Burtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Translations health information for patients, families and the general public. Many European languages included such as Spanish, French, German and Italian. Middle Eastern and Asian languages also available on selected health topics.
18 views this year
Traumatic Brain Injury
by Nancy Burtis, Michael Curtis, Chris Kucharski, Clare Rauch, Laura Schlueter, Amy Slutzky, Olivia Tsistinas, Virginia Young - Last Updated Aug 18, 2014
Traumatic brain injury happens after the head is struck or the head strikes another object. The resulting injury can be mild, moderate or severe. Treatment may consist of emergency management, with physical and occupational therapy and rehabilitation.
25 views this year
Veterans and their Families -- Health information resources
by Amy Slutzky - Last Updated Aug 31, 2014
Health Information Resources for Veterans and their Families
67 views this year
Writing & Publishing Support
by Amy Slutzky - Last Updated Sep 18, 2014
Information about: RefWorks, Citation styles (APA, MLA, etc.), Copyright, and more
733 views this year
 

Search Guides

Popular Guides


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip